Accreditation in the World

The project that led to the creation and implementation of SAEME-CFM sought information on the functioning of some of the world's leading teaching accreditation systems in addition to more theoretical approaches.

Further information regarding the models that exist in Brazil and different countries, such as the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, Australia, the Netherlands and Japan, are listed below.

Click for more information:

Accreditation Organization of the Netherlands (NVAO)

Only legally authorized organization to conduct professional and academic accreditation in the Netherlands and the Flanders region.

Australian Medical Council (AMC)

Body for the evaluation and accreditation of medical schools in Australia and New Zealand.

General Medical Council (GMC)

UK Medical School Accreditation Body, which has the authority to increase the frequency of assessment of schools that do not meet the desired standard, as well as withdraw the approval for operation.

Liaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME)

The LCME was established in 1942 for the evaluation of American medical schools, later including Canadian medical schools. It is supported by the official evaluation and accreditation bodies of medical schools in the United States and Canada.

National Institution for Academic Degrees and University Evaluation (NIAD)

Certification Organization of Japanese Universities.

Regional Accreditation System of University Courses (ARCU-SUL)

ARCU-SUL is an initiative of the ministries of education, Conaes (National Commission for the Evaluation of Higher Education) and the educational sector of Mercosur, implemented by the RANA (Network of National Accreditation Agencies), whose general objective is to permanently evaluate the quality of higher education and advances in the process of regional integration.

National Higher Education Evaluation System (Sinaes)

Website providing information about the evaluation process of Brazilian higher education institutions, coordinated and supervised by the National Commission for the Evaluation of Higher Education (Conaes) and operated by the National Institute for Educational Studies and Research Anísio Teixeira (Inep)